“a new heaven and a new earth”

We get so caught up in this world that we are living in that we forget sometimes that this is not where we belong.

If our names are written in the Book of Life, the new heaven and earth will be our first destination where we will meet together for the first time.  A time where we will be brought to Christ, and be presented as a glorious Church, without spot or wrinkle.

The new heaven and the new earth will not be separate from each other; the earth of the saints, our glorified, bodies, will be heavenly. The old world, with all its troubles and tumults, will have passed away.

There will be freedom from conflicting passions, temptations, troubles, changes, and alarms. The presence of God will be with us, it will not be interrupted as it is on earth, He will dwell with us continually. All effects of former trouble shall be done away. We have often been in tears, by reason of sin, of affliction, of the calamities of the church; but no signs, no remembrance of former sorrows shall remain. Christ makes all things new.

If we are willing and desirous that the gracious Redeemer should make all things new, He will make all things new in respect of our situation, till He has brought us to enjoy complete happiness.

Sensual and sinful pleasures are muddy and poisoned waters; and the best earthly comforts are like the scanty supplies of a cistern; when idolized, they become broken cisterns, and yield only vexation. But the joys which Christ imparts are like waters springing from a fountain, pure, refreshing, abundant, and eternal. The sanctifying consolations of the Holy Spirit prepare for heavenly happiness; they are streams which flow for us in the wilderness. (Matthew Henry)

For it is said, “He that sitteth on the throne said, Behold, I make all things new. And the Lord says, Write all this; for these words are faithful and true. And He said to me, They are done.”  And this is the truth of the matter

Enhanced by Zemanta

25 responses to this post.

  1. Beautiful imagery and such a magnificent reminder of the glory that is waiting in our eternal home! May your new year be blessed with His abundant grace! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Hi,
    I found your site through visiting Shannon’s blog. Great post! The first sentence captured my attention, “We get so caught up in this world that we are living in that we forget sometimes that this is not where we belong.” I am preparing to teach a class soon called “Destined for Eternity.” It is so easy to get caught up in this temporary world that we forget to live for eternity!

    Reply

  3. Posted by forthefrustratedchristian on February 14, 2012 at 4:18 pm

    This is awesome!! Thank you!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Good News Devotions on February 19, 2012 at 8:39 am

    this makes me want to go home.. Praise the Lord… Many blessings to you.. Bro Pat.

    Reply

  5. Dear evanlaar1922,

    this is “wordwatcherdawn” from Hungary. I just love your article and would like to ask whether you would give me permission to translate it into Hungarian and to put it on my blog, with the original source.

    Thank you and God bless you.

    Reply

  6. […] “a new heaven and a new earth” (https://evanlaar1922.wordpress.com) 48.293940 20.693411 Share this:TwitterFacebook(tovább…)NyomtatásE-mailLike this:TetszikJelezd elsőként, hogy neked ez tetszik: post! […]

    Reply

  7. Hello my friend,
    I like your writing up here. I think if you keep doing what you’re doing now, you will have good future. So keep it up my friend! 🙂
    I have a joyful ride in your blog, and now I’d like to invite you to visit mine. Thank you and have a wonderful day, my friend! 🙂
    Subhan Zein

    Reply

  8. Magnificent picture! I have nominated you for the Commentator Award.Congratulations!http://wp.me/p27eXb-7z

    Reply

  9. “If I can find in myself a desire which no experience in this world can satisfy, the most probable explanation is that I was made for another world.” -C. S. Lewis (Mere Christianity)

    Reply

  10. Always interesting information in your blog, looking forward to your next post up.

    Reply

Leave a comment