I am ready not only to be bound, but also to die

The true spirit of a martyr!

So resolute that there is no need to constrain them.

What part of God‘s character does this reveal – intrepidity, courage, firmness of mind?

I have to believe that there are times when duty calls the follower of Jesus to face the danger and there are times when we do not. The will of the Lord must be done, and there is no remedy; for His will is His wisdom, and He does all according to the counsel of it.

Consider this when trouble comes our way – that the will of the Lord will be done.  When we see that coming, this must allay our griefs, silence our fears and give us what we ought to say – Amen, let Your will be done.

The end result?

As a sixteen year old, I was slipping through the cracks.  One boring day, I picked up my dad’s book, Martyrs Mirror.  Changed my life to see what the early followers of Jesus had to suffer in order for me to know Christ, have the honour of knowing Him and having His story at my disposal at any time, any place – I am rich!

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

