Do you answer a question/challenge/charge with a story?

As part of my relationship with my Middle Eastern friends, this seems to be the best route to take.

I am often asked about Mohammed and what I think of the Qur’an and I must say that it is very difficult to answer this – for as I will not be offended by them minimizing the importance of God and His Word, they will not be so gracious with me minimizing the importance of either Mohammed or the Qur’an.  In fact, our relationship depends on my respect to them and so I require incredible wisdom in doing so, but still revealing the power of God in my life and the power of His Word.

Note that this will not always happen – there will be some who are determined to be against you no matter what you say – but for those who understand and are willing to show some form of respect – this enables me at least to describe what it is I believe.

Let me give you an example of a story that a friend recently shared with me after I asked him the same question – What do you think of Mohammed?

First of all he tells the story of Adam – how Adam was instructed to make sacrifices by offering the blood of a lamb to God – then he shared the story of Noah, how when he came off the ark the very first thing he did was to build an altar and offer a sacrifice to God – goes on and tells the story of Abraham, how the angel stopped him from offering up his son and then provided a ram as a sacrifice – then he shares the multitude of times and the intricate details of Moses and the sacrifices God instructed him to provide – then he continues to share the story of Jesus, the Lamb of God, whose life was offered as a sacrifice for all.  Question at the end of this story is – Has God changed His mind when His message is given to Mohammed????

Now, a couple of things may happen – you might still be thrown into the lion’s den, into the burning furnace, stoned like Stephen was, but you might cause some great conversations to take place – conversation is a good thing, and I always pray that a story helps in the conversation and that our relationships will always be strengthened by such things, especially over a great cup of coffee or over an excellent pot of tea.

Enhanced by Zemanta
3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by lidia youanas on October 20, 2011 at 9:59 pm

    Muslims don’t believe that Jesus is the Lamb of God!

    Reply

  2. […] Do you answer a question/challenge/charge with a story? (evanlaar1922.wordpress.com) […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

