Giving out of your poverty

My dad did this once.  Us kids didn’t know what was going on, but we were filled in later – I was around 14 years old at the time, so it left quite an impression.

My dad was running his own business, a publisher of a local newspaper, and he wasn’t doing very well, financially.

One Sunday, in church, he was asking God for help because all he had in his wallet was $10.00 and that might not have been enough to even get gas into our old Ford Thunderbird and get us home (Peterborough to Havelock).

As he was praying, God asked him to give Him the $10.00.  My dad checked with my mom and she declined to get involved, but when the plate came around and she saw the $10.00 going in, she began to worry and she checked out of the service.

With the service over, and our family not having anywhere to go because we had no gas money to get us home, just started talking to everyone, having a good time, stalling the inevitable.

Somewhere in that timeframe, a person walked over to my dad and put something in my dad’s pocket to which my dad said thank you, and continued talking to the person he was with.

My mom came over to him after everyone was either gone or in the process of going and she asked my dad what they were going to do.  My dad reached into his back pocket and pulled out a $100.00 bill and said we were going to gas up the car and then get Kentucky Fried Chicken on the way home and eat it in the park!

I will never forget that lunch as long as I live.  I take my family to that park whenever we pass through Peterborough on the way to Ottawa and we always have Kentucky Fried Chicken and if they forgot the story, I tell it again – which is every time by the way.

God is so good – I love Him!

Enhanced by Zemanta
2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Ruth Thomas on July 21, 2011 at 10:24 am

    Nice story, and great lesson in giving.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

